Worldview

Although this should probably be a pretty simple topic to blog about, I’m hesitant for two reasons. First, I am not sure how I feel about sharing something this personal with the world. Honestly, anyone who types my name into Google will be able to find this, and potential employers and other interested persons can easily run across this blog; so I’ll have to approach this very deep subject in a very general way, and that can be difficult. Second, my worldview seems pretty difficult to narrow down. After all, it’s what creates my reality, and I’d like to think that my reality is somewhat complex.

Keeping that in mind, here is my best attempt to round up my worldview:

Out of the three basic worldviews– secular, spiritual, and religious– mine would be a large serving of secular with a healthy peppering of spiritual and some hints of religion thrown in here and there for taste. Yes, I’m all over the place.

If I had to give it a name, I’d call it Pickerism or maybe Exploration.  I try to stay open to new ideas, and I often incorporate useful practices into my life. For example, I’m really digging the Buddhist Middle Path right now:

“Middle” means neutral, upright, and centered. It means to investigate and penetrate the core of life and all things with an upright, unbiased attitude. In order to solve a problem, we should position ourselves on neutral, upright and unbiased ground. We investigate the problem from various angles, analyze the findings, understand the truth thoroughly, and find a reasonable conclusion.

While I’d say that philosophy is pretty close to what I aim  for, I don’t think of myself as a Buddhist because I can’t believe that any one set of beliefs has all the answers. It doesn’t seem natural to follow strict rules of right and wrong, or black and white, when there are so many gray areas in the world.

According to the flowchart below, I’m a Humanist. The American Humanist Foundation defines Humanism as, “…a progressive philosophy of life that, without theism and other supernatural beliefs, affirms our ability and responsibility to lead ethical lives of personal fulfillment that aspire to the greater good of humanity.” It’s an interesting philosophy, and maybe I’ll explore it further in time.

Sadly, flowcharts often don’t have all the answers either, so it’s just for fun. (Click to enlarge)

So how does this worldview influence my goals? Well, since I’m an Explorer, I’m very curious about others’ perceptions and belief systems. This is why I’m aspiring to become a cultural anthropologist and focusing my studies on furthering my understanding of cultures throughout the world. I enjoy challenging my worldview, adapting it to incorporate new information, and trying to see things from another perspective. If I can do this while helping to increase the broader understanding of humanity through research, then I’ll really be living out my dreams.

Leave a Reply

